MultiVersus PS5 PS4

What are the dates and times for the MultiVersus closed alpha test on PS5 and PS4? How do you play the MultiVersus alpha? WB Games and developer Player First Games are working on a free-to-play platform fighter named MultiVersus, and your first chance to play it comes in the form of a closed alpha test. The game's full release is coming later this year, but if you take part in the alpha, you'll get to take it for a spin much sooner. With this quick guide, we've got all the info you need, including dates and times, how to sign up, character roster, and more.

When Does the MultiVersus Closed Alpha Test Start and Finish?

What are the dates and times for the MultiVersus alpha? Below, we've outlined when the alpha test starts and when it ends, with regional times covering all major time zones. The test lasts for just over a week.

MultiVersus Closed Alpha Starts: Thursday 19th May 2022

  • North America: 9am PDT / 10am MDT / 11am CDT / 12pm EDT
  • UK/Ire: 5pm BST
  • Europe: 6pm CEST / 7pm EEST
  • Asia/Oceania: 1am JST / 12am AWST / 2am AEST

MultiVersus Closed Alpha Ends: Friday 27th May 2022

  • North America: 5pm PDT / 6pm MDT / 7pm CDT / 8pm EDT
  • UK/Ire: 1am BST
  • Europe: 2am CEST / 3am EEST
  • Asia/Oceania: 9am JST / 8am AWST / 10am AEST

How Can You Join the MultiVersus Closed Alpha Test?

To play the MultiVersus closed alpha, you need to pre-register on the game's official website. Doing so isn't a guarantee you'll gain access, as spaces are limited.

Click the link and you'll see a button that reads 'Closed Alpha Sign-Up'. Through there, you will need to either sign into your WB Games account or create a new one. Once this is done, you'll see a hub page. Navigate to 'Beta Management', then click 'Preregister' next to MultiVersus Closed Alpha. A box will pop up — click 'Accept and Continue'. You're now signed up for the chance to get into the MultiVersus alpha.

Which Characters Are Playable in the MultiVersus Closed Alpha Test?

The following characters are playable in the MultiVersus alpha:

  • Finn (Adventure Time)
  • Jake (Adventure Time)
  • Batman* (DC)
  • Harley Quinn (DC)
  • Superman* (DC)
  • Wonderwoman* (DC)
  • Arya Stark* (Game of Thrones)
  • Bugs Bunny (Looney Tunes)
  • Taz (Looney Tunes)
  • Shaggy (Scooby-Doo)
  • Velma (Scooby-Doo)
  • Garnet* (Steven Universe)
  • Steven Universe* (Steven Universe)
  • Tom & Jerry (Tom & Jerry)
  • Reindog (original character)

*These characters are initially locked, but can be unlocked by playing matches and earning coins.

Which Maps Are Included in the MultiVersus Closed Alpha Test?

The following maps are playable in the MultiVersus alpha:

  • Tree Fort (Adventure Time)
  • The Batcave (DC)
  • Scooby's Haunted Mansion (Scooby-Doo)
  • Trophy's E.D.G.E.
  • Trophy's E.D.G.E. 2
  • Classic 3 Platform
  • Training Room

What Modes Can You Play in the MultiVersus Closed Alpha Test?

In the MultiVersus alpha, you can participate in the following modes:

  • 2 vs. 2 — First team to four ring-outs wins
  • 1 vs. 1 — First player to two ring-outs wins
  • 4-Player Free For All — Player with most ring-outs wins
  • The Lab — practice mode

On Which Platforms Can You Play the MultiVersus Closed Alpha Test?

The MultiVersus alpha is playable on PS5, PS4, Xbox Series X and S, Xbox One, and PC via Steam.

Do You Need PS Plus in Order to Play the MultiVersus Closed Alpha Test?

No, you do not need to be subscribed to PS Plus to take part in the MultiVersus alpha. Like the final game, the alpha is totally free to play.

Will Progress from the MultiVersus Closed Alpha Test Carry Over to the Full Game?

Unfortunately, any progress made during the MultiVersus alpha will not carry across to the final game when it launches.

Will There Be Any Other Opportunities to Play MultiVersus Early?

Yes. If you miss out on the MultiVersus closed alpha, don't worry. An open beta test has been confirmed and will take place in July — this will allow many more players to join in and test the game before its full release later this year.


For more on MultiVersus, read our hands on preview to learn our thoughts on the game. Will you be playing the MultiVersus closed alpha test? Which characters are you excited to try? Throw down in the comments section below.